Listen & Buy

    Ticket information

Vancouver chamber Choir Season Calendar 

Love Songs for a Small Planet

Price: $20.00

Centrediscs CMC-CD 4893

This recording follows the themes of love, peace and the environment by four distinguished Canadian composers: Alexina Louie, Srul Irving Glick, R. Murray Schafer and Imant Raminsh.

With Erica Goodman (harp), Salvador Ferreras (percussion), Ian Hampton (cello), Linda Lee Thomas (piano) and the CBC Vancouver Orchestra.

Love Songs for a Small Planet Glick Louie Raminsh Schafer 
Track Listing:
  • Love Songs for a Small Planet (Alexina Louie)
    • Introduction: Night
    • I. Sun
    • II. Moon
    • III. Earth
  • In the night we shall go in (Imant Raminsh)
  • Magic Songs (R. Murray Schafer)
    • Chant to bring back the wolf
    • Chant to make the fences fall down
    • Chant to make the fireflies glow
    • Chant to make clear water
    • Chant for the spirits of hunted animals
    • Chant to keep the bees warm in winter
    • Chant to make the bears dance
    • Chant to make the stones sing
    • Chant to make the magic work
  • Psalm 121 (Imant Raminsh)
  • Canticle of Peace (Srul Irving Glick)
    • After the Storm
    • We must strive for peace
    • Prayer
    • We must strive for peace
    • I dream every day
    • May we not in peace preserve these precious things?
  • Smile, O voluptuous cool-breath'd earth (Imant Raminsh)